A Day in Witch City: Salem, MA

I’m a Boston girl by birth. I’ve spent the majority of my life living in and around the greater Boston area, so when I decided to settle down, it was no surprise that I chose Massachusetts. I’d never visited Salem before home hunting, but I was drawn to the energy of the North Shore’s largest city.

Most tourists come to Salem – home of the infamous witch trials – at Halloween, but I’d recommend a weekend during the summer. Not only is it MUCH less crowded and more affordable, but Salem is essentially a blue collar coastal city – complete with lobster rolls, beaches, and hearty New Englanders.

I thought I’d treat you to a photo journal of a day in the life of a Witch City resident. Most of us who live in Salem don’t hit up the tourist hot spots regularly. But since this is a travel blog, I wanted to give you the full view of my current hometown – historical homes, beachside views, and of course, “witchy” sights.

Salem

Salem Custom House

12 thoughts on “A Day in Witch City: Salem, MA

  1. I live in a small town also and may post some pictures but I live in a town between two lakes while you are on the oceanside. Nice post, but I think the pictures would benefit from a caption why you picked them. What is the population of Salem? Favorite snack or local sports team? I bet you have some favorite spots in Boston as well. if you decide to add any pictures please consider one of the inside of the oldest candy store as I have a sweet tooth. Love your blog, thank YOU!

  2. Excellent pictures, Salem looks so quaint and nice. It’s always been an ambition of mine to go to Salem for Halloween (I know, I know, typical tourist!) since I was about 12. I’m fascinated by the history. It just seems so interesting, your photos have helped to paint a pleasant picture of the place.

  3. Pingback: The Best of New England | Have Baggage, Will Travel

  4. Hello,
    Salem is beautiful in the Fall. To walk around under the changing foliage amidst the ancient homes down the lanes Hawthorne walked. Lanes that have tunnels below them in which his uncle and his friends used to sneak in and out of the brothels. Tunnels in which they might run into a Secretary of the Navy, a Superior Court Justice, or even a president or two. With a wink they know their secret will be well kept because of the complicity they share. They might of even walk above the route that the nations most famous murderer used on the way to his brothel or his victim’s home. Traveling to Salem can be quite romantic in the Fall as the leaves change along with your opinion of our quaint little town. Come by and enjoy a truly interesting Salem walking tour on the Salem Tunnel Tour.
    http://www.salemtunneltour.com
    Cheers,
    Chris

Leave a comment