Favorite Photos: Castles Fit For a Queen

Today’s #FriFotos theme is “queens” in honor of Her Majesty’s Diamond Jubilee. So why bother to think too far outside the box? In my mind, queens and castles are a perfect fit—and I’m certainly not lacking in photos of castles. Here, then, are some of my favorite castles visited during our European travels. How many can you recognize?

Hint: You might find Nessie nearby.

Hint: We made it here before an Alpine blizzard forced us to give up on a visit to its more-famous neighbor.

Hint: Perhaps one of the most film-friendly castles, this one’s “Made of Honor”.

Hint: You’ll find this atop Castle Rock.

Hint: I wouldn’t want to ruin this Austrian castle for you.

Hint: Let’s buck the trend and show a palace.

Hint: The 1990 version of “Hamlet” was filmed here.

Hint: The MacLeod clan’s Fairy Flag rests here.

Hint: Don’t let the palm trees fool you.

This has nothing to do with castles, but it’s a lovely shot of the Queen Mary 2 pulling in to Boston Harbor on July 4th!

5 thoughts on “Favorite Photos: Castles Fit For a Queen

  1. I´m writing from Oporto, Portugal. As you love castles I suggest you visit Portugal. They’re beautiful and much different from the ones you’ve posted. I’m sure you won’t be disappointed. I’ve recently been following your blog. Thank you for sharing your experiences.

  2. I enjoyed your castle post! :) While living in England, we saw many castles too. We lived down the street from Rochester Castle for a year. It’s neat to be able to walk and bump into a castle… doesn’t happen here in Canada!

Leave a comment